Another Hundred People

It’s that time again, saying “hello” to yet another semester.

Another hundred people just got off of the train
And came up through the ground,
While another hundred people just got off of the bus
And are looking around
At another hundred people who got off of the plane
And are looking at us
Who got off of the train
And the plane and the bus
Maybe yesterday.

It’s a city of strangers,
Some come to work, some to play.
A city of strangers,
Some come to stare, some to stay.
And every day
The ones who stay
Can find each other in the crowded streets and the guarded parks,
By the rusty fountains and the dusty trees with the battered barks,
And they walk together past upholstered walls with the crude remarks. And they meet at parties through the friends of friends who they never know.

“Do I pick you up or do I meet you there or shall we let it go?”
“Did you get my message? ‘Cause I looked in vain.”
“Can we see each other Tuesday if it doesn’t rain?”
“Look, I’ll call you in the morning or my service will explain.”
And another hundred people just got off of the train.

– “Another Hundred People” Stephen Sondheim

Another hundred people descended upon campus. No wait, another thousand people it seems are at school. The parking lots all full, with people waiting and chasing down spots like there’s no tomorrow. Freshman and transfer students traisping about, their heads in campus maps.

It’s back to school time, and I was nervous. Fortunately, my boyfriend Cleve was able to go with me. He’s been out of the school grind for over 10 years, so I thought it might be nice for us to spend time together on campus. I only had one class today – Literature in the Holocaust, which is all the way in the Honors building, clear across campus. Since I park so far away, it was a bit of a walk. I’m used to the trek though, I became quite immune to it over the course of the spring semester.

It was a delightful first day back, and I’m glad I had someone I care about so deeply there with me to share in the excitement, and to laugh at how nervous I was. Today, begins the very LAST year in my collegiate undergraduate education. So, it was probably understandable that I was a bit uneasy.. thankfully, those pesky feelings lifted when I stepped on campus.

A school I know relatively well, a place I’m comfortable with. A campus teeming with humanity, and a fair amount of interesting people to look at (aka “eye candy“).

Unlike the song from the 1970 musical Company, “Another Hundred People,” no one got off trains or planes, but they did clamber off the Raider Express buses en masse.

I’m taking 15 hours this semester, which is fine with me. Only going 4 days week seems quite the ticket. I couldn’t exactly get just 2 days a week or a 3 day (MWF) schedule, but it’s alright. I will adjust.

Tomorrow’s docket:

  • Spanish III (eeek)
  • Getting yet another parking decal (I forgot they expire from one fall to the next)
  • Parking!!

Leave a Reply

