Getting things in the mail..

Image

It’s unfortunate that the United States Postal Service is bankrupt. Stupid really, because I am constantly buying stuff on ebay. Records, books, CDs. If everyone in the country bought at least two things each month on eBay or at least sent mail, instead of emails – the USPS would be flush with money. Personally, I find handwritten letters and thank-you notes more personal and more desirable than ANY electronic communication. I jump up and down like a child at Christmas when I see packages by my front door, or in the mailbox.

The two records pictured are: Elaine Paige: Sitting Pretty (1978) and Cleo Laine: Woman to Woman (1989) Now, like I said in my previous post – I love music. These two artists are dear favorites of mine. Elaine Paige is a favorite on London’s West End. Ms. Paige made waves when she debuted in Andrew Lloyd Webber’s “Evita” in 1979. In 1981, Paige claimed the role of Grizabella in Lloyd Webber’s world-famous musical “Cats.” Recently, she was in the Kennedy Center production of Stephen Sondheim’s “Follies,” for which she garnered rave reviews.

Dame Cleo Laine is also British. A Grammy winner, known for her amazingly versatile voice and scatting ability, her voice is so silky, dark and velvety. Her late husband, Sir John Dankworth was also her arranger and orchestrator. Their collaboration lasted until his untimely death in 2010. Ever since I heard her 1988 RCA release, Cleo Sings Sondheim, I vowed to collect (hoard) any and all of her recordings.

Oh, do I love records!

Leave a Reply

