“Starting here, starting now”

It’s been a while since I’ve posted, I know. Fortunately, I have made it through yet another semester of school. I was very concerned about my grades for the Spring 2012 semester, but I made it through with very respectable grades. I even passed Spanish 2010, the same class that gave me such terrible trouble last fall. There’s light at the end of the education tunnel, and I’m on track to graduate December of this year. I cannot wait. It’s been a long journey, and I’m itching to embark on other escapades that don’t include being stuck in the land of academia.

I’m looking forward to this summer. I’m taking two summer classes: Spanish 2020 and Poetry Writing (I need the writing class for to complete my minor) which I am actually excited about. Weird. I haven’t taken a summer class since 2007, and admittedly I should have been proactive on summer classes in the past, I might have graduated earlier than December 2012 – live and learn.

This summer is also perfect timing to get a job. I’ve not had a summer job since I graduated from Motlow this time two years ago. I actually want a job, and I’ve put out resume after resume. I even took a class this spring that helped me write a professional grade cover letter and resume (an employment package as my professor called it) but I can’t seem to get any call backs. I’ve put out tons of resumes. It’s so disheartening. I will keep going however, nothing is going to stop me.

Also this post wouldn’t be complete without a mention of BARBRA STREISAND. The entertainment grand dame recently celebrated her 70th birthday, and Columbia Records/SONY Entertainment announced that she will be making a return to New York on October 11, 2012, to take part in the opening of the new Barclays Arena, in her hometown of Brooklyn, NY. This news is a welcomed surprise to Streisand fans (like myself) who have eagerly awaited news regarding her film The Guilt Trip, and the any development on a big screen adaptation of Gypsy.

Tickets for this “one-off” concert range anywhere from $90 to $650 with a rumored $1500 available with presale codes offered on Wednesday morning. The presale starts this Saturday at 10a.m. EDT.

Streisand has toured in 1994, 2000, 2006 and now 2012. That’s 4 tours, 6 years apart. Streisand’s favorite (and lucky) number is 24. What is 4 x 6 = 24! It’s perfect.

I’ve never been able to see Streisand live. I was either not aware that she was touring, or the tickets were out of my price range. When she toured in 2006 and did a show in Atlanta, I desperately wanted to see her. I had recently graduated from high school and had started college. At the time, I thought the concert was the perfect belated graduation gift. Unfortunately I could not convince my parents to lend me the $750 + needed for a ticket.

However, here we are, six years later, and I’m due to graduate again – this time with my Bachelors degree. What could be more perfect: another graduation – yet another chance to see the greatest female recording artist on stage. I’m also 24 years old, Barbra’s lucky number!

I’ve prayed and prayed and prayed. I have friends who live in Brooklyn and would love to see New York again. I can just feel it – two tickets have my name on them, and come October 11, 2012 I will sitting amongst 18,998 of Barbra Streisand’s fans listening to her beautiful burnished voice.

Tickets go on sale to the public May 21, 2012.

Leave a comment