The Summer of ’12

I have made a decision that my second part of “To London, With Love” won’t be posted until the Opening ceremony of the Olympics. 

I was going to make a post congratulating the Queen on her Diamond Jubilee, but I thought better of it.  I was so enraptured with all the Jubilee coverage from both BBC America and ABC News, I missed the first two days of my summer Spanish class. Oops. Oh well, accidents do happen. 

This summer will be filled with the following: 

  • Studying (Spanish) 
  • Classes (Spanish and Poetry Writing) 
  • Music (I’m always looking for new music to listen and collect) 
  • Reading (I’m behind on my leisure reading) 

I’ve also been looking for a job for weeks now. I know that’s nothing, as many people have been out of work for months (even a couple years in some cases,) however I am desperate need for money. I have filled out countless applications and have sent tons of them out. I remember when I was in high school, my grandparents tried to point me  in the “get a job” direction. I rebelled and constantly made up excuses. I didn’t want a job then. Times have most definitely changed. I not only WANT a job, I need a job. In the six years since I graduated from high school, times have changed (not for the better) and so have I. The job market was okay when I started college. Now nearly two college degrees later, it’s the pits. 

I’ve learned a valuable lesson, as Miss Frizzle from The Magic School Bus once said, “take chances, make mistakes.”  It’s funny how that’s what life is really about, some people catch on early, whereas others (like myself) are slow to realize that. 

That’s all for now.. 

Leave a Reply

