What I want to do…when I grow up

I’ve always been fascinated with the arts. I’m not exactly sure where the fascination came from, but from the first introduction to Sesame Street or even Great Performances on PBS, I’ve always had a love for the arts and how it is spread to the masses through public television. I’ve been an avid support of public television programming for years. I’ve personally experienced the value of it and truly find it a great asset to the nation. It’s sad that funding is what it is. The government doesn’t pay for public television like it should and the Corporation for Public Broadcasting can only do so much. It is up to “viewers like you” or “viewers like us” to save public television for future generations. In an age where television is everywhere and people can get shows on their cellphone, iPad, iPhone or laptop – I personally believe smart television needs to make a comeback. 

I’ve always envisioned PBS as a viable sibling to BBC, where the people (and government) support superior television broadcasting. Yet for all intents and purposes, the public broadcasting service is an old dinosaur. But could it be saved? If younger people were involved in program development perhaps if there a stronger bond to the BBC could quality television make a comeback? 

I’d love to see the BBC available in its entirety to United States television viewers. Honestly, BBC America isn’t enough. If I want to watch something on BBC iPlayer, I cannot because (obviously) I don’t live in the UK and to due copyright issues. According to one source, the BBC iPlayer was due to be available to the US in 2011, yet here we are mid-2012 with no iPlayer. 

Maybe the BBC could invite US cable customers (or internet users) to use BBC iPlayer etc etc, if interested parties agreed to pay for an American equivalent to the UK television license which is required TV licence is a tax for the purpose of funding public broadcasting, allowing public broadcasters to air programs without, or with only supplemental, funding from advertisers. 

I’d love to see a joint effort, but would Americans want to pay tax to improve public broadcasting? No.

I’d love for PBS to be better.

 

Leave a Reply

