Employed (well, almost)

I do apologize in the lapse of blog posts. I’ve been busy this week, I’ll fill you in. 

Wednesday: I had my job interview with Amazon Fulfillment at the DoubleTree Hotel at 12:00p.m. Amazingly the process took only 55 minutes, and when I told them that the schedule which had been selected for me wouldn’t work, they were more than happy to let me work part time. So I am scheduled to work Saturdays and Sundays 7:30 to 6:00p.m. I cannot say how overjoyed I am. I have been looking for gainful employment for a so long, I had almost given up. However, things turn out to work for the best sometimes, and this opportunity is a godsend. 

Working for Amazon Fulfillment means I’ll be working for a temp agency, and if they like me (which I have no doubt they will) I will become an Amazon employee not just a temp. The ‘fulfillment’ part of the whole deal is simple: as I will be a warehouse associate I will be responsible for filling orders and making sure customers get their packages on (or before) their arrival date. So come Thanksgiving and Christmas I will be hard at work filling Amazon.com orders for customers just like myself. 

The warehouse (one of 3 in the state of TN apparently) isn’t quite ready yet, so I will start working in Mid-September when everything will be in place. 

I am so happy, I can hardly contain my enthusiasm.

Friday: The opening ceremony of the 2012 London Olympic games: I enjoyed watching bits and pieces, I couldn’t watch the whole thing because NBC has a monopoly on Olympic game coverage and held the broadcast until PRIMETIME which asinine (in my opinion). I would have preferred to watch it LIVE as it happened. It sucks that one of the top television networks in the country still cannot manage to get a broadcast of the Olympics right. I’m a firm believer in the idea of having a full BBC service in the U.S because I’m sure then we would get proper radio and television programs. At least the BBC is punctual. I’ll post more thoughts about the ceremony later in the day. 

By the way, you can follower my twitter @abrandnewmonarc

Cheers!

One thought on “Employed (well, almost)”

Leave a Reply

