Broken

I’ve been in school for six years, I’m due to graduate in December with a BA in English.

Last night, I was told in no uncertain terms (by a college chum) that my grammar, frankly, sucks. It’s like the last few years of college have been for nothing. It’s no wonder no one reads my tumblr or my wordpress. It’s also no surprise that the school news paper, Sidelines doesn’t want me writing for them anymore.

I have known that my grammar is shit for a long time. I’ve tried to fix it, but I can’t seem to get the hang of grammar rules. I still have severe issues with comma splices etc, etc.

It was suggested to me that I take a Grammar and Usage class, given at MTSU.

It’s important that serious writers master this crucial and complex task, and I know you would benefit from it

I don’t know what to do now. I couldn’t stand the Modern English Grammar and Usage class when I had it two years ago, because I made such a dismal grade, and the constant diagramming of sentences drove me nuts.

I wish people would have told me that English wasn’t strong suit before I had entered college. I could have saved money and wasted less time.

I’ve always wanted to be a writer, but I guess that’s not in the cards.

Leave a Reply

