Now What?

“Now What?” has been the question people have been asking me for weeks now. It’s only been a little over a month since I graduated from college; however, it feels like I only walked across the stage yesterday.  I’m having major school withdraws and it sucks. The spring semester officially started today and I feel so lost not going back to school.  My boyfriend, Cleve, is going back to school to get his ASN in nursing. He’s super excited about taking A&P and Microbiology at my old school, Motlow.

My sister is also going back to school. After some six years, she’s a freshman at MTSU going after her degree in information technology. I’m so proud of her for going back to school. I know it will be tough on her, she has a full time job and two children to support, but it will be better for her and her family in the long run. It was so cute, yesterday my sister was on campus and asked me “where do I get my student i.d?” and “where do I get my parking decal?” It felt good giving my sister directions and advice on where to go and where not to park. Unfortunately for her, she has a 6:30a.m. history class in the humanities building on campus. The only upside to having a morning class is the parking is usually quite easy (parking at MTSU has been a pain for decades.) However, my sister learned the hard way that students cannot park just anywhere they please and she got her first ticket.  I can laugh because last semester I acquired something along the lines of 7 or 8 parking tickets due to my impatience at trying to find parking on campus and after at least 6 your car gets the boot. So, it’s really nice that I can continue to being an undergrad vicariously through two people I love.

Being in school for so long does have its negatives though, I’m so used to it that I purchased new school supplies on Amazon before realizing… oh wait, I’m not in school anymore. Not to worry the supplies I have will be put to good use. Waste not, want not.

Today, I have been applying for jobs left and right. I hope something comes of the applications I’ve put out. I want to do something meaningful with my life and the degree(s) that I have obtained. I know I’m smart, I just need potential employers to see it!

Leave a Reply

