Tired

This past week, many of my friends both past and present graduated from college. I cannot say how proud I am of their accomplishments; moreover, I am so happy that could share in their educational journey. That being said, many of these new graduates will hit the job market, hunting for entry-level positions. I graduated in December, and I’m still looking for an “entry-level” job anywhere I can.

I’m still with my current employer; however, with each passing day I get more and more frustrated. I’ve been out of work for three weeks due to an injury sustained on the job; however, in that time I have not been idle, I continue to look for work where ever I possibly can. I’m getting tired though. My job is very much a ‘dead end’ job. Trotting out the same thing day in, day out. I also feel a bit blindsided by the fact that I have two degrees that are (in the business world) completely worthless. I believe I have skills that employers want; however, those looking to hire college grads are not exactly looking for people who have a BA in Cultural Studies.

I know what I ultimately want to do: I want to teach on the collegiate level. In order to do that though, I need a Masters degree and that takes time, the proper GRE exam results and money. I don’t want to end applying for the FASFA and end up taking out $30k or more in student loans, only to have to turn my life over to Sallie Mae or ACS when everything is said and done.

I need a job that I can grow into, something that I feel some sort of accomplishment doing. I just wish I didn’t feel like such a failure. I see friends and even family members going places and doing things with fantastic careers, while I’m stuck in neutral tearing up my tendons doing a warehouse job when I have so many dreams and aspirations of greater things

Leave a Reply

