New Music: Pet Shop Boys (Electric, 2013)

Apparently, The Guardian is allowing UK subscribers to stream PSB’s new album. Click HERE. So I decided to try and listen for myself; however the article does come with a caveat, “..though sadly this player will not work for readers in the US.” Fortunately, I found my way around that. I love the album! Here are my favorite tracks:

1. Axis
2. Bolshy
3. Love is a Bourgeois Construct
8. Thursday
9. Vocal

I tried to give their last album, Elysium a chance but none of the music connected with me. Truly, it has been a long time since PSB has released anything worth getting worked up about. I will always love their collaborations with Liza (Results) and Dusty Springfield (Reputation) in 1989 and 1990, as those albums have a special place in my heart. However, when I heard Stuart Price was producing the album with the duo, my hope was piqued and for good reason. Price’s work with Madonna on Confessions on a Dance Floor and Kylie Minogue’s Aphrodite is nothing short of spectacular.

Electric is special as it returns Chris Lowe and Neil Tennant to their electro roots. The duo have been around for over 30 years now (their hit song “West End Girls” came out in 1984!) and it looks like they will be around for years to come.

Across the board, Electric garnered positive reviews. The Guardian gave it 4/5 stars. =) Not bad!

The Guardian reviewer, Alexis Petridis, wrote near the bottom of his review, “Tennant has talked about being struck by a negative iTunes review of Elysium that demanded “more banging and lasers.” I would like to think that the British Pop duo were so struck by this supposed negative review that they decided to put together an appropriate album. With Stuart Price producing, Electric definitely fits the bill with much banging and lasers, the video promos for the album drive it home.

I truly hope Julian Mendelsohn, the long time PSB producer, will offer up remixes of a few (if not all) of the tracks on the album.

I’ll post a more in depth review next week!

One thought on “New Music: Pet Shop Boys (Electric, 2013)”

Leave a Reply

