“Write,” she said.

I have to hand it to my mother, she has always had my back. Regardless of what has happened in my life she has been there, cheering me on or giving me much needed encouragement. “You’re a good writer,” she said to me other day. I replied with my typical self-deprecating response, “but my grammar sucks.” I love the way she responded, “so what, not everyone has great grammar. Everyone makes mistakes” she said this quite earnestly too. “You want to be a writer, so write. Write a book, do album and theatre reviews” she exclaimed.

Write a book?! I’ve been jotting down stuff about my life for years. In fact, my own “memoir” has had a working title for nearly ten years. I remember I had a Xanga account years and years ago, and that is where my first thoughts were published – that account has since been deleted. Funny, Xanga and LiveJournal were so popular back in 2003. Now, the once popular blog sites have given way to things like Tumblr and WordPress.

I remember having a germ of an idea I thought might make a good murder mystery, it had something to do with a garden?! I don’t know, maybe I will get back to it one of these days. How does one even go about writing or even drafting a book?!

I enjoy writing I just don’t do it enough. I always feel like I’m all out of ideas. What do people post on blogs? “Today, I had a salad.” or even more prosaic, “Here’s a picture I took on Instagram” (oops, I’m guilty of that).

Here lately, I’ve been posting about my frustrations on the job market. I want to be successful and make something of myself. I have experience in various fields and a college degree; however, even a degree doesn’t guarantee a job anymore.

I’m also considering going back to school for a degree in Mass Communication, seriously I am.

I want to go into television, to be more exact, I want to produce television shows and specials for PBS. Ever since I saw one my favorite  specials, Some Enchanted Evening: Celebrating Oscar Hammerstein II in 1995, I was hooked. I loved the production values, the cast, the music – everything. Sadly, the great moments from Great Performances, which is now entering its 40th season on PBS  have never been released on DVD or VHS for that matter. I want to change that. I love the arts, and I so long to be part of public television.

Goodness, forgive me the desultory sidetrack into my future plans. Yes, I need to write and so I shall..

3 thoughts on ““Write,” she said.”

  1. Definitely go after that Mass Communications degree! TV is very thrilling, especially if you produce your own show. You’re calling allllll the shots.

  2. You don’t need ideas of your own every single day to write. Read arts beat articles in several major online newspapers–London, New York, and anywhere else that has a thriving arts scene and an English-language paper. Use those theatre reviews, actor interviews, etc. as inspiration. Explain things to those of us that don’t know what you know.

    Your mom is correct–nothing improves your writing like doing more of it. It might as well be concerned with the field you want to enter, Then your practice is both for writing and for thinking about your area of interest. Good luck!

  3. You have your whole life ahead of you. You just graduated; enjoy a little freedom. Be patient with yourself. Take your time looking for the job that is right for you. And just write whatever comes to mind without thinking too much at first for now! Do you journal? If not, try it. If so, go back in your journals and skim them for ideas.

Leave a Reply

