Feeling overwhelmed

School started on Monday morning and now, even less than a week in, I’m feeling overwhelmed. Sure I have been away from the collegiate setting for almost two years; however, I didn’t expect my senses to be overloaded with thirteen page syllabi and people who would rather you not take notes on a computer, even if you’re in a communication class. The preference of the note taking does not bother me all that much. I guess when a person in authority (especially over a grade) rubs you the wrong way you just find everything to complain about. To be honest I really shouldn’t start my first semester back with such ill feelings. Truth be told I am very happy to be back at school. I love learning and hope to gain new perspectives and new information that I can use later in the real world. Since I completed my BA in English two years ago, I decided to tackle a BS in Mass Communication specifically with an emphasis in Video/Film Production. I should project change the title of my blog from “Musings of an English Major” to something more appropriate, right?! 

Of the twelve hours under my belt the only one I’m seriously freaked out over is Video Production. What does one do when you’re a complete novice behind the camera, and being asked to film a 3-5 minute documentary that *MUST* be polished and presentable in time for final grades at the end of the semester.  Now I am not a complete fool, I have seen video cameras and I have played around with my grandfather’s old SONY Camcorder. You know, the ones that were huge and recorded on Hi8 (8mm) video tape? Well this course is much more than that. Monday afternoon, I was introduced to of all things a shotgun mic, lavalier or “lav” mic, and a SONY HDR-FX1E HDV Handycam Camcorder (I think that’s what it was anyway). My brain feels like mush, but this is what I want to do – I want to produce film and video. Even as I child when I saw fantastic presentations on PBS, I wanted to be a part of the action never knowing what was involved. Now, ready or not, I’m getting my first taste of what goes into “production” even if at the beginner level. … not sure how I feel about all of this? It’s been a dream of mine since I was a really, really small. But are even the biggest dreams too big?! I don’t know, but I will give it my best “shot” no pun intended. 

 

Leave a Reply

