Can We Talk?!

Joan Rivers 1933-2014

The passing of Joan Rivers is sending waves throughout the entertainment community, the outpouring of tributes and memorials has been quite touching to both read and watch. I remember seeing Joan Rivers (with Miss Piggy) for the first time in The Muppets Take Manhattan, that film will always have a special place in my heart. There was a news piece in particular that caught my eye. David Muir, having taken up his position on ABC News’ World News Tonight, highlighted a profile piece he did with Joan Rivers a number of years ago. She said something struck quite a chord with me.. “If you don’t do what you want to do, you’re a fool.” I couldn’t sleep last night and that quote made me certainly think about what I have been doing being back in school and all. Joan is right through, if you don’t do what you want to do you are a fool. How many of us get stuck in a rut, going ’round and ’round like a hamster in a wheel, just going about our daily lives not doing what we truly want to?! As controversial as Joan Rivers was, she lived her life the way she wanted to, doing what she loved — speaking her mind and making people laugh! We should all do what we want to, however long it takes us to reach our goals. I find that Joan’s quote will follow me and be a constant reminder for me not to lose sight for my main goal and exactly I want to do with my life! Thank You, Joan for making people laugh and being unmistakably yourself! Read a delightful piece from Mashable has a great tribute piece about her here.

Blogging

I’ve been rather slow in my blogging even after I vowed that I would post something every Friday. Now, I have a good reason to start blogging as I planned! Blogging is part of my class work for a course I’m taking this semester, killing two birds with one stone!

I enjoy reading articles on Mashable and since I am taking a class regarding “New Media” I have a new found interest in all the tech magazines that I follow on twitter and Flipboard (I love reading articles on Flipboard!) There is one article that I have found to be very enlightening and thought provoking, you can read it here.  Mashable Business Reporter, Seth Fiegerman, writes about something that most of us are aware of but mostly likely ignore: mobile addiction. Even in my Survey of Media Class, I find that I cannot help but take out my phone and see what’s current on twitter or what updates have posted to my Flipboard (obsessed, much?!)  But I think it’s striking what is said in this article. For example, Fiegerman writes:

I topped the 100-minute mark without fail and once neared the three-hour mark. It sounded like an awful lot of time to spend staring at a four-inch screen, but what was there to compare it to? There is no standard metric for how much mobile time is too much. There is no standard metric for how much mobile time is too much.

He even opens his article with something that I think we all can admit we do — upon waking up in the morning, we check our cell phones for updates. I do it all the time.

Am I interested in tracking how much time I spend on my phone?! Not so much. I looked up Moment in the App Store, it has ONE star and the reviews themselves are quite entertaining to read. I guess the only real way to curb how much time you spend on your phone is discipline and sheer will power. In relation to my new media class, I think the article speaks volumes on how media convergence is moving us toward staring at our iPhones, iPads or Androids more and more.

One thought on “Can We Talk?!”

  1. So true. The first thing I do when I get up in the morning is check my phone … first for email, then for Twitter and Facebook, and then Flipboard and Instagram. And, as I’ve said many times, it’s really hard for me not to be looking at my phone during class! (Nicely said!)

Leave a Reply

