Christmas Music in October

I have never fully understood why record labels insist on releasing Christmas music in October. Most people aren’t even finished decorating their houses for Halloween by the time holiday music hits the stores. These days, holiday music is being pushed earlier and earlier. Stores are juxtaposing Halloween Decor with Christmas trees, it is just strange – especially at Cracker Barrel!

Thankfully I just read an article from The Atlantic that puts my mind at ease. Kevin O’Keefe’s article makes me seriously want to pull out all of my Christmas albums early. His article is charming nonetheless, even if it is also a plug for Idina Menzel’s album, Holiday Wishes which is out now.

I particularly like O’Keefe’s comment explaining why someone might want to listen to a particular song or album, “…I wanted to be transported back to the time (and, more specifically, to the feelings I had at the time) when that record was released. The same goes for Christmas music: It may not yet be the designated season, but what’s wrong with getting excited for hot chocolate and warm holiday tidings?”

Christmas Music holds a very special place in my heart.

For years my mother would play various albums from Hallmark Cards during the holiday season. At one time the card company offered a holiday album, exclusively made by Carter Companies, if you bought three or more holiday cards. From 1985 until around 2007, Hallmark made it an annual traditional to promote their Christmas album early. Back in 2008, I remember purchasing a very rare CD copy of their 1987 holiday album, Songs For The Holidays, which featured opera stars Peter Hofmann, Deborah Sasson, and the London Symphony Orchestra and Chorus. Hallmark’s1990 offering with Julie Andrews entitled The Sounds of Christmas, which capitalized on her 1987 television Christmas special of the same name, is another favorite of mine.

I think it’s appropriate to end with another quote from O’Keefe, “Getting people thinking about Christmas as early as possible is to stores’ benefit—but not at the expense of Halloween merchandise. So October is a safe haven for those annoyed by unseasonal Christmas tunes. In early November, best to just pack earbuds.” Music for me is a stress reliever and I personally find Christmas music uplifting and helpful, especially when I am stressed out.

So what if it’s released before Halloween? The more, the merrier (no pun intended).

One thought on “Christmas Music in October”

Leave a Reply

